SMOKED HERRING FRIED RICE

Sometimes the best dishes have the fewest ingredients, and it’s certainly the case with this dish! After working all day in the cane fields, this is what my grandfather always wanted to eat. At first I despised that smoky fishy smell, but as I grew older *and was forced to eat it enough times*, I started to appreciate that smoky fish smell and the pungent long-lasting flavor.

Imagine my surprise when my 4 year old walked into the kitchen when I was cooking this and said ” MMMMMM what’s that deliciousssss smell?!?.” He has to be out of his little mind!

When I bake cookies, he says nothing, cakes, nothing, pies, nothing…smoked herring and he goes crazy! Maybe he has some of my Caribbean roots after all!

All you need for this dish is some left over rice, sliced onions, habanero pepper *if you’re feisty*, and some smoked herring that’s been soaked to remove some of the salt and chopped into little pieces.

Heat a little oil in your frying pan and saute onions, pepper and smoked herring. Toss in your rice and let it warm through. Easy peasy right?

Give it a try!

DSC_5314

Leave a Reply

