The Big Green Secret behind Caribbean Food

SHHHHHH!!! You can’t tell anyone about this!..*comes closer*… Do you want to know why Caribbean food always tastes sooooo good??? Well I’m going to tell you but you must promise to never share! Ok?! Excellent!… I trust you!

It’s this! Green seasoning! We all make it, everyone has their own variation, there’s never an exact measurement, you know you’ve got the right amounts of ingredients by a certain smell! Once you know it, you’ll remember it forever! I just can’t explain it!

Green seasoning is used on meats, fish, vegetables and even for a body scrub *ok maybe not a body scrub…really don’t do that*.

My preferred blend includes;

  • chives
  • cilantro (shadow benny/ bandania is used in the Caribbean, cilantro is in the same family)
  • celery
  • thyme
  • spanish thyme
  • oregano
  • congo/ scotch bonnet/habanero pepper
  • pimento pepper
  • ginger
  • garlic
  • onion
  • salt
  • lime or lemon juice
  • water

Then you blend it together until smooth and store in the fridge. Use this pesto looking mixture to marinate meats, fish and vegetables for incredible flavor! So go on! Grab an islander and have them tell you if you’re on the right track! 🙂
image

6 thoughts on “The Big Green Secret behind Caribbean Food

    1. I’ve just started doing videos on YouTube! I’ve just done two recently and I will add this to the list of videos to make just for you 🙂 *and I do have a Trinidadian friend in Minnesota! Maybe you know her!? 😁*

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol! I wonder, does she have an accent? I might be able to identify her by being one of the few people who don’t say, like we do in Minnesota (I’m not a native) uffdah and donchaknow!

        I’d love to see them, and can’t wait for “mine!” I have been thinking of jumping on the bandwagon, but so far not skilled or brave enough!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You’re hilarious! People usually catch my accent really quickly, but only the skilled ear can guess which island haha! Check out my play doh video, I’m just trying to get the hang of it myself! Give videos a try! I believe in you!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

